New edition of ISO / IEC 20000

Introduction to ISO / IEC 20000

ISO / IEC 20000-1 (Part 1) is the international IT service management standard used to demonstrate the service management capabilities of a service provider. Since the first edition was published in 2005, many organizations around the world have been certified.

A service provider certified under Part 1 has independent evidence that it has implemented best practice management techniques and processes, such as ITIL. A service provider can use ISO / IEC 20000 to provide enhanced services that add value to their customers. This should enable customers to be more effective.

Many organizations use ISO / IEC 20000-1 as a contractual requirement for their suppliers.

New edition of ISO / IEC 20000-1

The second edition of ISO / IEC 20000-1 (Part 1) was just published in April. Members of standardization organizations from more than 25 countries and liaison members of the itSMF and ISACA have produced this new edition.

There are improvements in wording to help people who do not speak English as their native language. Terms have been standardized where possible. There are also more terms and definitions that help organizations that use different standards, such as ISO 9001 and ISO / IEC 27001. There is better alignment with ISO 9001 and the information security requirements used in ISO / IEC 27001.

One of the most important changes concerns the scope of the service management system. This can be complex and Part 1 now contains specific requirements for the definition of the scope.

Another important change is the applicability of the standard. The new edition of Part 1 recognizes that many services are composed of service components from many parties and suppliers. The new clause on the governance of processes managed by other parties means that a service provider must demonstrate that it effectively controls its suppliers. When a service provider relies on other parties for the majority of its service management processes, it can be difficult to demonstrate adequate control to achieve certification.

Many service management process requirements have been expanded. The clause on the design and transition of new or changed services makes more demands. This provides better support for organizations that have adopted the ITIL service lifecycle.

Transition to the new edition

Each owner of an ISO / IEC 20000 certification scheme defines their own transition plans. The switchover may differ between certification schemes and it is important to seek advice from the owners of certification schemes. The International Accreditation Forum’s certification schemes will have a common transition approach. Typical changeovers like this one take 2 years.

A certified service provider should check with their auditor what arrangements will be in place to transfer the certificate to the second edition of Part 1. At this time, your auditor may not have detailed information yet because he or she examines the impact of the new edition before submitting the details. can confirm about the transition to the new edition as ISO / IEC 20000-1.

There are ISO / IEC 20000 IT service management qualification schemes for individuals who need to be updated. The owner of the qualification scheme or your training company will notify you of changes.

Where can I get a copy of ISO / IEC 20000-1: 2011